The Department of Sociology presents a number of awards annually, and one award periodically, to recognize achievements by our undergraduates. Students do not complete nomination to apply for these awards. Each are selected by department faculty and staff based on the student's accomplishments.

Highest GPA Award

This award is given to the undergraduate major with the highest grade point average.

2019 Winner: Zhong Huang

View past winners

Linda K. George Award for Excellence in the Scholarship of Health and Society

This award is granted to a student who has exhibited excellence in scholarship combining sociology and health, healthcare, or medicine. Scholarship in these health-related domains can involve a senior honors thesis or senior capstone research project with a health or medicine focus. As well, scholarship in health could be defined as an internship project in a health profession or healthcare services organization. Sociology majors who have produced excellent academic work in medical sociology courses and who will enroll in a professional or graduate school in the health sciences are eligible for this award. Finally, a student could be eligible for this award based on extensive research experience in health-related fields.

2019 Winner: Tiwatope Ibidapo

View past winners

Ida Harper Simpson Award

The Department of Sociology presents an award, named after an emerita professor, to the sociology major writing the best senior thesis. The Simpson Award, which carries an award of $500, is presented at the Honor's Workshop held at the end of the semester.

2019  Winner: Luiza Rezende Izoldi Perez

View past winners