The Vorsanger-Smith Scholar Award

The Vorsanger-Smith Scholar Award is presented annually to recognize overall excellence in the graduate program. Excellence is assessed for all areas of performance in the programs, including coursework, examinations, professional presentations, publications and awards, evaluated contributions as teaching and/or research assistants and departmental citizenship. Graduate students in the third, fourth and fifth years who have passed preliminary examinations are eligible. The award consists of the honorary designation during the following academic year as the Vorsanger-Smith Scholar and a monetary award for research costs.

The Graduate Policy Committee faculty will select the awardee every year immediately following the Annual Review of Graduate Students. All eligible students will be considered for the award.

2021-2022 Winner: Em Maloney

View past winners

Graduate Teaching Award

The Graduate Teaching Award is presented each year to a graduate student selected for excellence in teaching as an individual instructor or as a teaching assistant. The award includes a $500 prize.

2021-2022 Winner: Joseph Roso

View past winners